IIT Home Page CNR Home Page

The .it Registry

The .it Registry is responsible for managing dot .it domains, maintaining the database of registered domain names, and managing the dot .it primary nameserver. The Registry operates within the Institute for Informatics and Telematics (IIT) of the Italian National Research Council (CNR) and since December 1987 with the establishment of cnr.it (the first domain in the Italian network) has been managing all those activities regarding registration and maintenance of .it domain names as originally delegated by IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority, now ICANN: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers). 

Heading up the Registry is Domenico Laforenza, who is the director of IIT. The Director consults with the Management Committee in organizing work and staff, administration and finances, regulatory activities, and conduct policies. The committee is made up of the heads of the five units of the registry: Maurizio Martinelli, Systems and Development, Rita Rossi, Disputes; Domenico Laforenza, International Relations; Anna Vaccarelli, External Relations, Media and Communication; and Daniele Vannozzi, Operations.
The Registry consults with the Steering Committee of the Registry that acts as a consultant for the Registry by expressing opinions regarding how to ensure that the domain name registration service functions at its best in terms of being equity, transparency, equal access to the service as well as ensuring the rights of third parties and consumers.

The Steering Committee of the Registry met, for the first time, on February, 28, 2012. The Steering Committee has a term lasting two years and operates in accordance with its own Regulations.
The Committee’s operations are performed in accordance with its own Rules and its members serve for a period of two years. The members’ replacement of the CIR is currently pending.